//
you're reading...
Diary

Two Movies That Made Me Cry in 2013

12-years-a-slave-poster-copy

12 Years A Slave:

One of the saddest movies I’ve ever seen! It was based on a book written by Solomon Northup and it’s about his life and how he was a free man living in Saratoga, New York with his wife and two kids in the 1840’s and how he was sent into slavery by these two white men. So hurtful! The first time I cried was when Solomon got whipped. I covered my face with my coat and my mom told me to put my coat down. She knows how much I hate violence. Plus, there were some times when I felt disgusted. Like when Paul Giamatti’s character is showing white people the slaves and most of the black people were naked! REALLY!! Then, there were times when I felt like I was about to cry when Solomon was at his slave owner’s house and they were forced to dance and then the slave master’s wife hit one of the slaves with a glass container because her husband liked the slave. That must of hurt a lot! The last time I cried was when Solomon reunited with his family. His daughter got married and had a child named after him. He missed a lifetime with his family. What made me cry even more was that Solomon tried to get the men that brought him into slavery put in prison, but of course that didn’t work.

Chiwetel Ejiofor did a great job playing Solomon Northup. Even though I gave you a couple of spoilers don’t forget to see the movie in a theater near you!

ButlerPoster640

The Butler:

This was such a great movie. It’s based on a true story about a butler who worked for seven different U.S. presidents. He went through so much in his life especially when he saw his own father get shot in the head as a child because he tried to defend his mother who was raped by their master. Also, his son  was trying to fight for what was right, but he wasn’t too happy about his son making the decisions that he made, but finally understood what he was doing and was okay with it. Plus, working for many of the President’s without a raise was brutal but, President Kennedy he liked. Even after Kennedy was killed he kept the tie he gave him. There were also lots of riots going on as well and his wife died right after Barack Obama won the 2008 election and his other son died in the war. I’d have to say that the ending was my favorite. He got to meet President Obama and when one of the workers at the White House was showing him were to go to meet the president he said, “I know where to go”. After the end I started to cry. It was such a sad and good movie!

Forest Whitaker did a great job playing the butler. In real life the butler’s name is Eugene Allen. Also, Oprah Winfrey did a good job playing his wife.

Both of these movies have wonderful history and great messages. If you haven’t seen them you need to. They’re great movies and they taught me a big lesson as well. I hope I get to see these movies again!

 

About Senia

Owner of SimplySenia.com.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

